top of page
Writer's pictureKenY

A Little Bit About Me


It's been more than 3 months since I have built this website so I feel it's appropriate to write a little bit about myself. Though no one would probably care or will ever see this page, that's not important at all. The most important thing is this website is a personal space for me to rant about my feelings, my happiness, and my hardships. I post whatever I feel like it. There is no one breathing down my neck and tell me what to say or post. This website is tailored made just for myself and my ego.


About Me:

So you may ask who the heck are you? To tell you a little about myself, I just love taking pictures. I don't take photos for a living and for me it is simply a hobby. At most, I think I will be just a hobbyist.


Initially, I started taking analogue photos (films) in April 2019. I started with zero knowledge in photography. I had no idea what are shutter speed and aperture. And I certainly had no idea how to even hold a camera properly in my hands. It's just a coincidence that I watched a youtube video of a film camera review and I was hooked. I got myself a vintage Canon rangefinder and started using it. I remember everything was just a total mess. I had no idea how to load up a roll of film and when I was able to load it I didn't even know how to shoot a picture properly. I just took a few mindless shots and praying that I could get everything to work out. Eventually I gave up using the rangefinder and moved on to my first SLR, the Olympus OM-1. This is the camera which taught me everything, and everything was done manually. I learned all the fundamentals from scratch.

My Teacher/Sensei


I remember my first serious outing with the camera was at a park and for a little challenge I did not use the built-in light meter in the camera. 90% of my shots were either overexpose or just out of focus. The pictures that turned out good was just because I was lucky to be in the right setting. I didn't know what aperture I was supposed to use so I just randomly select a f-number on the lens, and as you know shoot the lens wide open in bright sun light the pictures will just be totally white out. Also, I certainly didn't know what shutter speed to use to matched the aperture so I just select whatever number I liked. Maybe it's 1/60 and the next shots would be 1/1000. Overall, I was like bwoah... Another silly thing happened was that I didn't even know the film only had 24 exposures until I sent the film to the lab. I thought the camera malfunctioned but in reality it didn't. I have to say that with films, I developed my skills in the purest way. I screwed up so much but I learned from the mistakes. In a few months time my skills had improved and I was able to take decent shots.


Below is one of the few pictures that turned out decently.

Olympus OM1/Zuiko 35mm f3.5/Tri-X 400/Aperture and Shutter speed: Who knows?


As time goes on I collected a variety of film camera bodies and lenses and it kept on getting addictive. At peak, my collection went up to more than 20 different cameras. The hobby got deeper and serious, and at the same time the holes in my wallets also got bigger at the same time. Then the COVID-19 pandemic kicked in this year. I stopped going to the photo lab for a few months and at the same time I kept on shooting films on a constant basis. Eventually the store reopened and I kept on going. Until one day I realized how expensive it had become. I felt that it was no longer worthwhile economically to continue with films. I sold most of my film gears and returned to digital photography again. The digital camera I ended up with is very analogue like, which really helped in the transition period. Also, ironically, I once again picked up on the rangefinder system, which I didn't like so much at first. Now, I can say it's been a huge pleasure to be using digital and a rangefinder again.


Focus on Yourself, Not on Others:


For me, analogue photography, or even photography in general is my personal way to differentiate between my double lives: the mundane wage-slave VS freedom-seeking adventurer. I feel that everyone of us need a hobby or just something you love to do to eliminate the negativities from work life.


Afterwork leisure time and Day offs are precious and there is really not much of time for it as they tend to fly by fast. You need to get back into the grooves and be yourself again whenever possible. A hobby helps you to separate the two sides in your life. For me, photography allows me to find my inspiration and happiness. Whenever I go for a photowalk, I tend to go alone. Because it is a personal time that I can self-reflect and contemplate about my life. It is a me time that I feel everyone are entitled to. I feel it is important not to let your work overtake your personal life. After all, work is just work, but aside from it you have to take care of yourself.

Be Brave!!!/Leica M8/50mm F2 Lens


My Style:


You may ask, do I have a particular style in photography? My answer is no. I do not have anything in particular that is special. Frankly, I have taken some lovely pictures, and at the same time a lot of my photos are just crap. I just take pictures whenever I have the opportunities and I hope to learn and improve myself every time.

No style is the ultimate style. I also focus on ordinary objects.


Editing:


I don't really edit my pictures. At least I don't photoshop them to make them completely crazy. I prefer my pictures to be simple, organic, and pure. I don't really care how glamorous the pictures are as it's really not my thing so most of the time I don't edit anything heavily. I tend to just stick with what the camera has taken and perhaps just modify the exposure a bit to make it brighter or darker. Or to just adjust the contrast a bit. Other than that, I am not too crazy about editing. For editing, I use Lightroom and I like its simplicity.


For those who know about the difference between raw/DNG and jepg. These days I just use the jepg files that comes from the camera as I feel the jepg is what the camera's actual exposure. I know the benefits of using raw files but most of the time I just use the jepg.

This is an Jpeg that came straight out from the Leica M8 and is unedited.


My Favorites in Photography:


Lens Focal Length: 50mm. 50mm is the one I choose over 28mm or 35mm. With a rangefinder you have to rely on the framelines to make your composition. I find the 28mm focal length too wide and I often capture objects that I don't want and it's a bit difficult to compose. 35mm is better but still a bit too wide. The 50mm is just right and I like it more because I can pre-focus in a scene and as the framelines are not too far-fetched in the viewfinder (do not occupy the entire finder) I have an easier time to pinpoint exactly what I want in a picture. Some might find the lines too limiting but for me rather it's an advantage.

The Lens' Aperture: I don't mind if it's a fast lens or slower lens. Most of the time I don't need f1.2 or f1.4. There are also lenses which have aperture of f 0.95 or f1 that I don't find it necessary. These lenses are more bulky and heavy which I don't really like. A f2 lens would be good enough for me as it's a good balance between speed and size of the lens. Slower apertures like f2.5 or 2.8 is not really a big problem for me either.

My 50mm F2 Lens


Brands: I really like Nikon because of their affordability. I started out with a digital Nikon DSLR and when I was shooting films I used my Nikon F3 a lot. The Olympus brand is also one of my favorites. I learned everything about photography in a Olympus OM-1 so it's a really special camera for me. My absolute favorite is Leica, which I really feel their cameras are arts rather than instruments. A rangefinder has changed my way of using a camera completely and I feel that I will be using a rangefinder for the rest of my life. The only camera I now use is the Leica M8, which is their first digital M in history.


Genres: I focus on portraits, landscapes, and objects in an everyday environment. For portraits I only take pictures for close family members and friends. I like nature and that's why I am into landscapes photography. And I really like to take pictures of any objects in my daily routine. Basically anything I find interesting. Most of these objects are stationary and I like them when they are in their natural habitat, and they are especially interesting if they are within an interesting scenery.


Subtle Camera: I always think a camera is a black box. In the film days it's used to protect the films from lights and provide a safe environment for the pictures to nourish. Similar idea nowadays in the digital era but it's sensor rather than film. I prefer my cameras to be as subtle as possible. Thus, on my Leica M8 I use graffle tape to cover up the red dot and any other inscription. Less distraction is better.


My Dislikes in Photography:


Street Photography: I don't really do street photography. It is just not something I am really fond of. I am just not into taking pictures of strangers or people who I have no business with. I have no intention to get close with anyone. I don't want to take privacy away from those people and knowingly they probably don't want to become a part of my photography. I focus on my own business and other people focus on theirs. We don't interact with each other.

Does it count as street photography when it's indoor? I guess not.


Cameras with Small and Dim Viewfinders: This is a huge no for me in a camera. The viewfinder is the main window for a photographer to communicate with the world. Small and dim viewfinders really hinder the usability of any cameras and I don't consider any cameras that come with it.


Auto-Focus: I don't like it. It gives me zero confidence. I want to be in complete control with my focus and I don't want the camera to dictate what I want to focus on.

Sold the Contax G1 because it had both auto focus and a dim viewfinder.


Large and Heavy Cameras and Lenses: I have had a few cameras and lenses which are just too heavy to be in practical use. I much prefer equipments which are compact in size because they are easier to hold and less burden when you carry them on your neck. And they are more size friendly to your bag as well.

Muscles are needed to use this combo.


Flash: I am not a flash user. I don't like any bright artificial light to be part of my photos. I prefer natural lights which are more beautiful and easier on the eyes.

No flash on the M8 as the hotshoe is covered by a cover.


Continuous Mode/High Speed Shooting: I like to take my time. I don't see the purpose of rushing through taking a photo. One picture at a time is the key. I do not use the continuous mode on any cameras. And I certainly will not bother with high speed setting.

S mode all the way! The C mode is just a decoration.


Complicated Equipments: I like simplicity. I don't like cameras that have millions of buttons. I don't need video mode in any cameras. For me a camera should just be a camera. It should be designed in the most simplest way to allow a photographer to just take pictures at ease. There should not be functionalities that slow down the process.

All cams should be simple as a Leica, which only has 6 buttons and a wheel on the back.


Thanks for reading!

13 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page