top of page
Writer's pictureKenY

Leica Thumb Grip

Why the Grip?


It is simply because it improves the usability of the camera. Essentially, this is a popular accessory for many Leica M users because it enhances the handling of the camera. Leica cameras are not light weight objects. They are made of solid brass and heavy metal which make them relatively heavy in weight. The good thing is they are high quality and the build and finishes are fantastic. The downside is because they are not feather light it can be a bit tiring sometimes holding them. Also, because there is not external grip that comes with the camera it can be a bit slippery to hold.


There are original Leica external hand grips that are available. I am however not a big fan of adding a fat grip in front of the camera. I think those grip just makes a beautiful camera bulky and ugly. They are also extremely expensive to buy. One can cost at least more than $200USD depending on the vendors.


The Buying Process:


After using the M8 as my only camera, I thought a grip would be a nice modification. I searched for a variety of shops and I found one for cheap on Ebay. There are several sellers who sell the similar product. For one seller, I submitted a best offer for a few dollars off and he rejected it so off I went to someone else who have better pricing and my best offer was accepted. Also, I was struggling to decide on silver or black. Naturally the black color matches the black chrome finish so it's a no brainer.


The one I bought is not a Leica product. A Leica equivalent would cost at least 5 times more. I bought it from a eBay seller which only costs about $40USD. What I like about it is not only it's cheap but it also comes with a rubber shield. It creates a buffer so the grip will not touch the camera surface. It means the camera will not get scratched when the grip is attached. There are some which do not have this feature so consider it when buying one.


My feeling:

I feel this tiny upgrade does improve the handling of the camera tremendously. I can hold the camera more comfortably in my hands. And it prevents the camera slipping off of my hands. It does not take up any space in the bag even when it is installed. I also feel it improves the look of the camera a little bit.


The only downside is the grip does take up the space of the hotshoe which is used for the flash. I don't use flash so not really a big problem for me. For those who do they can consider the version that is glued on the side of the top plate. I personally don't like to glue anything on my camera so I am happy with the one I got.


Overall, an aftermarket accessory that is worth the money. The most important thing is that it does have a practical functionality, which I value very much whenever I purchase anything nowadays.


To sum it up:

Pros:

- It is cheap to buy.

- It is functional

- It makes the camera prettier IMO

- The grip comes with a proper shield that does not scratch the camera which is a huge plus.


Cons:

- No more hotshoe when it is attached. Not a con if you are not a flash user.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page