top of page
Writer's pictureKenY

Limitation as Unlimitation

Updated: Nov 4, 2020

In the world of English language, the word "Unlimitation" is non-existent. When I wrote this article, I realize that there was no better word to replace it. There is the word non-limitation, but I don't think the word makes any sense. Nevertheless, in this article I will talk about how I explore endless of photographical opportunities with my one and only one camera, the Leica M8.

Why the Deficits of the Leica M8 are Good News?


There are reasons why many people consider the M8 as a niche camera. It is not a camera for everyone's likings. But for those who love it, the deficits of this camera bring in new perspectives in their journey. Here are 5 main reasons:


The ISO:

To start, the ISO is the main dislike people have for the M8. It goes from 160 all the way to 2500. Nowadays, many cameras have usable ISO up to the space. For example, the newest Leica M10-R offer the maximum 50,000. The highest I have ever heard of is ISO 4,000,000 from a Canon. ISO 2500 really does not sound convincing at all. If we start from the beginning, ISO 160 is not exactly that great either. Why not ISO 100 or even 80? The ISO is not really a forte with the M8.


My take on the ISO is that for some it means they have to adapt to the way this camera works. A photographer have to compensate if the situation requires any ISO lower than 160. Also, it might be better off giving up on shooting in low light situations because anything after ISO 640 is basically unusable.


For me, the constraint of the limited range of ISO brings up my awareness of the different kinds of lighting conditions that I encounter. In the M8, as I don't have much room to maneuver I often just stick to one ISO. For example, if there is plenty of lights available in the room or outside, then I like to use ISO160. If it is a bit cloudy or dim then I push it up to ISO320. And if it is really dark then I use ISO640. Any other situations that require more than 640 I will just stop shooting. At the same time, because I have to stick with one ISO, I try to understand and try to explore which light situation requires this ISO and so forth. The cameras that offer more ranges are great, but I don't find myself to be able to understand the real use of the ISO when there are so many of them are available. With the M8, I have only a few to know and I do get to know each one better.


Shooting a M8 is like shooting a film Leica M camera. Back to the film days, you have to stick with one ISO only for each roll of film. That's even more limiting than what the M8 offers now. But because you have only one ISO available for the entire roll of film, you must assess the different lighting situations and therefore be more mindful of the environment. The new perspective is that you cannot take the ISO for granted. You must have a better and thorough understanding of how ISO reacts to the environment. It may be limiting but at the same time quite liberating because sticking with one or two set of ISO you are free to use it to the fullest. In return, it improves your light reading skill as a photographer.


The Back Screen:

Second thing that you have probably heard from others is how bad the back screen of the M8 is. Yes, the screen on the original M8 is made of plastic. And yes, it does have low resolution. That means previewing pictures on the M8 is waste of time. For me, I don't waste time trying to see the pictures after each shot unless I absolutely have to. Most of the time I just move on and take the next picture. The thing is that for many digital users they tend to look at the pictures after each shot is done. I find this a distraction that potentially destroy the candid moment: When a photographer can possibly capture a great moment but rather he or she is taking time to preview the pictures on the back of the camera instead. Again, I treat the M8 like a film camera. With film you don't get to see the pictures until they are processed. With the M8, I save the pictures until later when I am using my computer. By giving up on using the screen, I use that valuable time instead to take pictures. In a way, it's good because unintentional the Leica M8 forces you to take pictures continuously. I feel that I am not obligated to see the pictures anymore. For me, it is a relief.


The Slowness:

Another flaw that people agree on is the slowness of the M8. Yes, it is a slow camera. It has a low buffer and frankly it is a bit technically outdated. Don't forget it is now a 14 year old camera. When a picture is taken, sometimes a 3 to 5 seconds wait time is needed until the camera is ready for action again. It is like the loading time in a video game but shorter. The camera also has a continuous mode but with the low speed it is pretty much useless. Singular mode is the only way to go for the M8.


The M8 has boasted my patience in taking pictures. Shooting an old school rangefinder is not about speed. There is no auto focus. The only aid with the M8 is the aperture priority mode. The most important thing I have discovered is to take one picture at a time and savour each moment. The slow pace enhances the shooting experience much more. It's an entirely different experience compared to a fast digital DSLR which can shot like a machine gun. With the M8, you take one picture at a time and by doing so you probably have a deeper memory for each special occasion as you tend to remember that moment more vividly when you take the process slowly.


The Temper:

The M8 can be temperamental at times. Unlike an user-friendly DSLR which can shoot entirely automatically, the M8 is the exact opposite. It is mostly manual control and it's only manual focus. When a picture is out of focus it would be mostly the photographer's fault. The camera does not really have much tolerance in terms of focusing. When everything is right then the reward is a nice picture with perfect color. As it is a rangefinder, it also shoots differently. The viewfinder is not connected with the lens. What you see in the viewfinder is not what you will get on the picture. You compose the pictures with the frameline in the viewfinder and you have to work around the frameline and insert the composition inside. At times the frameline can be inaccurate and this results in unwanted objects in the pictures or the entire composition is off.


There are also technical quirks which make the camera difficult to use at times. For example, the camera is picky with the SD cards. It does not like a card which is high speed and has larger capacity. At times it does not recognize the card or may say the card is full but really it isn't. The camera then requires a reboot or the reformat of the card in order to work properly again.


It is also picky with the battery as well. An aftermarket battery does not work properly with the camera. The battery indicator on the top plate is prone to display error that it does not show the proper level. The only way to resolve this issue is to use an original Leica battery.

The M8 forces you to adapt to its operation rather than the other way around. To take good pictures, you have to understand everything perfectly in how the camera works. And you must know how to manual focus. It also only takes a certain accessories in order for it to function properly. Otherwise it will not cooperate. It takes much more effort to make things right, but it is all these operational requirements and quirks that make the camera rewarding to use.


The Rawness:


Leica encountered a lot of uncertainties when they built their first digital M camera as everything was an unknown realm. I always think that M8 is pretty much an experimental camera for Leica to test the water. By no means it is not a incompetent camera because it is lovely to use. But at times it does feel there is something lacking and something that Leica could have done a bit more to make it more complete before releasing it.


For example, the shutter sound is simply too loud and when the shutter is tripped the vibrations can be felt sometimes. A Leica should be discreet and quiet to use. The UV/IR filter issue is also a bit cumbersome. Leica underestimated the issue and by the time the camera was released it was impossible to fix it. To remedy the problem Leica recommended the use of UV/IR cut filter and they even offered free filters for Leica M8 back in the days.

For me, these issues just make the Leica M8 even more like a Leica. The rawness of the M8 is part of the experience when using it. Frankly some will for sure not like it, but for those who like it there are no other alternatives. The Leica can bring out the emotional side of a photographer. When using one I feel that you have to develop a bond with it. And it also feels like you really have to bring your A-games whenever using one. You have to overcome the issues but it's all part of the unique experience. The need to develop your skills and techniques in order to be able to use a camera to the fullest is the same for every other ones out there, but for a Leica it is even more crucial. Lacking something or if one is not taking it seriously, the camera will not operate at its fullest. And the camera is a bit on the temperamental side which can inhibit the photographer if one is not aware of it. When I am using the M8, I tend to be more serious as I want to improve my skills and also to be able to overcome the issues and turn those issues into unlimited opportunities. This is why using a Leica is so special. A camera that has character and temper that will push you and unleash your creativity.


The Gateway to Digital Photography with Analogue Elements:


The Leica M8 will always be a special camera in my heart. It is not my first digital camera, but it is the first digital camera that I really want to use all the time. It is even more special because I acquired it mainly for the purpose to replace any of my other film cameras. I considered some other digital cameras but only the M8 fits my needs. Especially for reasons to serve as a reminder for analogue photography and also to continue with it but in a digital way. The breakaway from my old film days was done smoothly thanks to this fantastic camera. Coming from analogue photography, using digital equipment did not really appeal to me at all. But because the M8 has retained many analogue elements and it shoots like an film camera, it helps to preserve the analogue flavour, but at the same time allows me to experience the modern digital world.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page